We are aware some customers are currently experiencing interruptions to voice calls. Our technical teams are working to resolve the issue as quickly as possible. We apologise for the inconvenience.

Our International Rates to call Japan

Here are our rates to call Japan. On selected plans we have unlimited calls to Japan.

Select your plan expiry period.

International call rates and included minutes to japan

PAYG
30 Day

XS
30 Day

Small
30 Day

Medium
30 Day

Large
30 Day

Extra Large
30 Day

XXL
30 Day

$0.15 $0.05 100 Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited

PAYG
360 Day

XS
360 Day

Small
360 Day

Medium
360 Day

Large
360 Day

$0.15 $0.05 Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited

Long Expiry Plans minutes reset every 30 days

^Includes bonus minutes until 19/08/24. You’ll use the included $3 call credit for the Extra Small Plan. Once you’ve used the included call credit or minutes, you’ll need Main Balance to use our PAYG rates. For more information , check out our 30-day plans page or 360-day long expiry plans page.

How to call Japan

Country phone codes

81 is the country calling code assigned to Japan by the International Telecommunication Union. All of the territory's telephone numbers are regulated and overseen by The Telecommunications Bureau, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications.
So if you're calling Japan, the number should start with:

+81 123-5678-9101

Area codes for Japan

To call Japan using your mobile phone, dial the country code, the area code and the 9 to 13-digit number. Some of the common area codes in Japan include Tokyo (3), Osaka (66) and Nagoya (52).
Location Country Code Landline Area Code Landline Number
Tokyo +81 (3) 123-5678-9101
Osaka +81 (66) 123-5678-9101
Nagoya +81 (52) 123-5678-9101

Best times to call Japan from Australia

Japan observes Japan Standard Time using UTC+09

Here are the best times to call Japan from your state or territory in Australia

Time Zone Best time to call
AEST 12.00pm – 8.00pm
ACST 11.30am – 7.30pm
AWST 10.00am – 6.00pm
AEDT 1.00pm – 9.00pm
ACDT 12.30pm – 8.30pm

Pick up a Lebara SIM

Woolworths icon
Caltex logo and Woolworths logo
Coles logo
Coles Express logo
Big W icon
Australia Post logo
United logo
BP logo
WHSmith logo